2018 Countdown | Jim Stephens

We’ve watched Jim Stephens path over the last few years, and his steadfast commitment to the roots of music are clear. His first two albums prepared us for this moment - Songs Of Healing: Philassippiola Soul is the definitive Jim Stephens experience.  The album brings Stephens full vision into view, with classics like Down By The Riverside and Baby Please Don’t Go interspersed with his soulful gospel-tinged compositions. The process is one of inclusion, with a solid cast of stellar and inspiring musicians from Chuck Treece (Bad Brains) Doug Grisby (Teena Marie, Michael Jackson), Lucky Thompson (Nina Simone) Stan Davis (Teena Marie, Lauren Hill), Pablo Batista (Phyllis Hyman, Eddie Palmieri), BoyWonder, and introducing Ja-Tun Thomas and others contributing their unique styles in the arranging and recording process.