New Music | Horné Electric Band

if you caught the accent on the E, you can already tell this band is out for fun. Self described as an electro-funk group generating a buzz for their infectious beat and whimsical musical personality, the band is made up of talented players from the scene. A collaborative outgrowth of vibraphonist Tyler Blanton’s work on the malletkat and midi electronics, the group’s core consists of bassist/producer Massimo Biolcati and drummer Corey Rawls. The steady horn section consists of Wayne Tucker, Yacine Boulares, as well as the Snarky Puppy horn team of Mike Maher and Chris Bullock. The Horne Electric Band’s debut record is scheduled for release on September 27 on Ropeadope and features guest artist appearances by saxophonists Chris Potter, John Ellis, and Donny McCaslin, as well as guitarists Lionel Loueke and John Scofield.

Get ready to shake off the daily news blues and dance until regime change happens. That’s what we’re doing at the fake office.